Pastoral Care

At Downham Market Academy, we aim to support young people to develop emotionally as well as academically and we do this via our pastoral care system.

All students have a tutor that they will see every morning at the start of the day and this tutor should be the first point of contact for both students and parents if there are any problems or concerns.  In addition to this, we have a Heads of Year, Assistant Head of House, a transition Leader and Assistant Head of Year 11.  Students will be encouraged to compete in various activities throughout the year and represent their House. There will be a mixture of students from each house in each tutor group. 

Each week, all students will have an assembly with their Head of Year that compliments the PSHE theme.  PSHE (Personal, Health and Economic Education) prepares students for life in modern Britain and each week explores a different theme, making use of discussion-based activities, debates and reflection.  In addition to this, there are different competitions each week that students are encouraged to take part in and represent their House.

Sue Campbell (Lead DSL)Assistant Headteacher – Pastoralscampbell@dma.tela.org.uk
Annie LockeHead of Year 7alocke@dma.tela.org.uk
Rachael HopleyHead of Year 8rhopley@dma.tela.org.uk
Dave MasdinHead of Year 9dmasdin@dma.tela.org.uk
Lewis Swatman (DSL)Head of Year 10lswatman@dma.tela.org.uk
Shaun RipponHead of Year 11 srippon@dma.tela.org.uk
Bev Ireland (DSL)
Transition Leader and Assistant SENCobireland@dma.tela.org.uk
Louise O’Keefe
Assistant Head of Year 11 lokeefe@dma.tela.org.uk
Faye Low
Assistant Head of Duffy Houseflow@dma.tela.org.uk
James WilliamsAssistant Head of Dyson Housejwilliams@dma.tela.org.uk
Ellie Cook
Assistant Head of Holmes Houseecook@dma.tela.org.uk
Casey Ward
Assistant Head of Peake Housecward@dma.tela.org.uk
Natalie Paine
Executive SENConpaine@dma.tela.org.uk
Kirsty WardBehaviour Support behaviour@dma.tela.org.uk
Sarah VenniAttendance Officerattendance@dma.tela.org.uk

Site Search